Immaculate Heart Academy

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Overview

Immaculate Heart Academy truly excels athletically, winning numerous league, county, state sectional, and state championships in a variety of sports. Each year, teams continue to dominate play and are recognized at the local, state, and national level. The athletic department is proud to recognize many “Coaches of the Year,” “Players of the Year,” and "Teams of the Year."

Mission Statement

The goal of the Immaculate Heart Academy Athletic Department is to provide our student-athletes with the opportunity to excel in the competitive environment of high school athletics with the help of encouraging teammates and great coaches.

IHA Athletic Health forms

IHA athletes, please find important athletics forms and information below.
 
Fall athletes are asked to have their physicals done and to hand in completed Physical Exam Packets to the Main Office BEFORE August 2, 2021. Click here for the 2021-22 Physical Exam Packet.

  • If not handed in by one of the appropriate dates, the fall athlete must bring a copy of the completed form to the Athletic Director or trainer on the day the team first meets.

  • Please DO NOT give the original completed form to the coach, trainer, or athletic director. Students without a copy of their completed physical exam may not try out, practice, or compete. Students should hand in the original form to their homeroom teacher on the first day of school. Students attending summer sports camps at the IHA location or camps sponsored by IHA coaches should not give the original to that coach. Provide the coach at the camp with a copy of the completed form.

FALL 2021 Sports TRYOUT INFORMATION

 

All fall athletes should have their medical paperwork, including the completed Physical Exam Packet, turned in to the IHA Main Office by Monday, August 2, 2021. Registration for Fall Sports on FamilyID and the NJSIAA COVID-19 Questionnaire found on FamilyID will also close on August 2. Please note, all medical paperwork and the NJSIAA COVID-19 Questionnaire on FamilyID must be completed and turned in for a student to participate in any summer recess practices. All sports fees must be turned in prior to tryouts. Your check will be returned or refunded if you do not make the team.

The following bulleted items are required in order to try out for a Fall Sport:

 

2021 Fall Sports

Please see the information below regarding summer recess practices and official practices start dates.

Cross Country
Head Coach: John Downey
jdowney@ihanj.com
Practice begins:
Aug. 16, 8 a.m. - meet in gym lobby.

Soccer
Head Coach: Eric Pfeifer
epfeifer@ihanj.com
Tryouts for Freshmen:
August 16-18, 8 a.m.-10 a.m.

Tryouts for returning players:
August 16-18, 11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Tennis
Head Coach: Prince Silva
psilva@ihanj.com
Tryouts begin:
August 9, 8:30 a.m.-11a.m.

Volleyball
Head Coach: Maria Nolan
mnolan@ihanj.com
Tryouts for Freshmen:
August 16-18, 4-5:30 p.m.

Returning Players Schedule:
August 16-18, 6-8:30 p.m.

Dance
Head Coach: Allaire Merlini'16
Tryouts:
September 2, 4 p.m.

 

 

Winter 2021-22 Sports TRYOUT INFORMATION

The following bulleted items are required in order to try out for a Winter Sport:


All sports fees must be turned in prior to tryouts. Your check will be returned or refunded if you do not make the team.

 

2021-22 Winter Sports

Basketball
Head Coach: Steve Silver
ssilver@ihanj.com
Tryouts:
November 22-24


Bowling
Head Coach: Paul McGinnis
pmcginnis@ihanj.com
Tryouts Begin:
November 8

Ice Hockey
Head Coach: Alexa Aramburu
aaramburu@ihanj.com
Tryouts Begin:
November 8


Ski Team

Head Coach: Carl Boyhan
cboyhan@ihanj.com

Tryouts Begin:
November 29


Swim Team

Head Coach: Lia Kunnapas
lkunnapas@ihanj.com
Tryouts Begin:
November 8


Winter Track & Field

Head Coach: Matt Joyce
mjoyce@ihanj.com
Practices Begin:
November 29

Spring 2022 Sports TRYOUT INFORMATION

The following bulleted items are required in order to try out for a Spring sport:

All sports fees must be turned in prior to tryouts. Your check will be returned or refunded if you do not make the team.
 

2022 Spring Sports/Volleyball


Golf
Head Coach: Lauren Rhein

lrhein@ihanj.com
Tryouts Begin:
March 7, 2022

 

Lacrosse
Head Coach: Sue Montegari

smontegari@ihanj.com
Tryouts Begin:
March 7, 2022

 

Softball
Head Coach: Diana Fasano

dfasano@ihanj.com

Tryouts Begin:
March 11, 2022

 

Spring Track and Field
Head Coach: Matt Joyce

mjoyce@ihanj.com
Tryouts Begin:
March 7, 2022