Immaculate Heart Academy

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Students Inducted into Rho Kappa Honor Society

Rho Kappa made history as the first IHA honor society to hold a virtual induction ceremony in May 2020 as they inducted seniors from the Class of 2020; this spring, they welcomed thirty-two students from the classes of 2021 and 2022 into the society.

The students of the Rho Kappa Executive Board, along with moderators, Dr. Sue Kenney, social studies teacher, and Ms. Linda Chelotti’76, chairperson of Social Studies Department, planned a beautiful ceremony that honored the inductees. Thank you to Miss Kerry Carroll’04, assistant principal of faculty and instruction, for taking part in the virtual induction.

In addition to being the first Honor Society to hold an induction ceremony over

Zoom, the Rho Kappa Honor Society has left its mark on IHA by creating bulletin boards encouraging students to vote and celebrate black history. As stated by the National Social Studies Organization, the name of the honor society, “Rho Kappa,” is taken from two words of Semitic origin. The first word, “Rho”, comes from “resh,” meaning “head.” “Kappa” comes from “kapf” meaning “palm of the hand.” Together, these words represent the society’s belief that “knowledge without civic service is useless.”

Congratulations to the new 2021 Rho Kappa inductees:
Abbey Benus’22
Paulina Biagioni’22
Jessica Boyd’22
Grace Calianese’22
Angelina Casale’21
Caitlin Croci’22
Alyssa Darella’22
Margaret Dillon’22
Gabriella Fava’22
Kylie Galiger’22
Valerie Hiemer’21
Lindsay Keogh’22
Cailee LaFrance’21
Shannon LaMotta’22
Daniela Makowka’21
Michelle Marino’21
Ashley Mariscal’22
Hanna Martin’21
Riley McGovern’22
Rhea Mittal’22
Allison Monroe’21
Lauren Montgomery’21
Elizabeth Muzilla-Fullem’22
Freya Nair’21
Mackenna Olsen’22
Madelyn Panebianco’22
Heerali Patel’22
Lauren Plastina’22
Lauren Turci’21
Margaux Yannacci’22
Katherine Young’22
Alexandra Zitelli’21

Executive Board Officers:
Katherine Conway’21 - Communication Officer
Emmersen Dabal’21 - Communication Officer
Isabella Estevez’21 - President
Claire O’Byrne’21 - Vice President
Emma Viggiano’21 - Treasurer